The GCBSR is an entirely volunteer organization. Countless people contribute their time and effort to make the Race possible each year! The following volunteers have been elected to help guide these efforts:


Captain Lane Briggs (1932-2005)

Executive Committee

Captain Duncan Hood, Board Chair
Captain Steve Briggs, President
Paul Carroll, Vice President
Captain Jen Kaye, Secretary
Captain Keith Jones, Treasurer

Board of Directors

Stacy Spaulding, Education
Jaime Van Pelt
Caryn West
Nan Nawrocki

Advisory Board

Peter Briggs, Town Point Yacht Club Representative
Lisa Forbes, Fells Point Yacht Club Representative
Pat Smith, Social Media
Thomas Morehouse


Al Roper, Past President
Dave Junkins, Past Chair
Bill Ripley, Past Chair
George Treiber, Past Treasurer
Art Birney

Steering Committee Chair Baltimore

Nan Nawrocki

Steering Committee Chair Norfolk

Steve Briggs

Race Committee

Paul Carroll, Chair
Michael Fiorentino
Erik Lohse
Mike Oh
Corey Roy