The Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race

The Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, founded to promote education and public awareness of the Chesapeake Bay’s maritime heritage and encourage the preservation and improvement of the Chesapeake’s natural resources. Proceeds from the Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race support local non-profits in the two areas where we celebrate the race, Baltimore/Annapolis and Portsmouth/Norfolk. Local organizations are sought out whose mission aligns with ours. To date, monies have been distributed among the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Oyster Recovery Project, Elizabeth and James River River projects, and Sail Baltimore. If you have a needy organization in mind, we’d love to hear your suggestion!

The race begins in Baltimore, Maryland, and ends 118 nautical miles down the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Virginia. Entry is open to all schooner-rigged vessels. Thirty-one schooners participated in the 28th annual race. The race and all race week activities are run by volunteers and donations keep the race going strong.

October 15-20, 2019

Please join us — as a sailor, sponsor, volunteer or spectator — to make the 30th annual GCBSR another great event for all involved! Until then, we wish you fair winds and smooth sailing!


Our Leadership

The GCBSR is an entirely volunteer organization and countless people contribute their time and effort to make it possible each year! The following people have been elected to help guide these efforts:

Lane Briggs (1932-2005), Founder

Executive Committee

Nan Nawrocki, Chairman of the Board
Captain Steve Briggs, President
Paul Carroll, Vice President
Captain Duncan Hood, Secretary
Captain Keith Jones, Treasurer

Board of Directors

Mark Arduini
Peter Briggs, TPYC
Pat Brabazon
Lisa Forbes, FPYC
Captain Linda Gunn
Captain Jen Kaye
Patrick Smith
Jaime Van Pelt


Al Roper, Past President
Dave Junkins, Past Chair
Bill Ripley, Past Chair
George Treiber, Past Treasurer
Art Birney

Steering Committee Chair Baltimore

Nan Nawrocki

Steering Committee Chair Norfolk

Steve Briggs